Select Page



The First 5 Siskiyou Children and Families Commission is the governing body overseeing the mission, strategies, and work of First 5 Siskiyou. They are responsible for allocating Proposition 10 resources across Siskiyou County.

Since its founding in 1999, the Commission has invested more than $9,300,000 to local programs and systems that support the physical, cognitive, social and emotional development of children prenatal through age five and their families.

The Commission is made up of seven members. By legislative mandate, a member from the County Board of Supervisors, the Director of the County’s Department of Social Services and the County Health Officer. All Commissioners are appointed by the Siskiyou County Board of Supervisors.

Kermith Walters, Commission Chair
Siskiyou County Superintendent of Schools

Michael Perry, Commission Vice Chair
Siskiyou County Librarian

Michael Kobseff
Siskiyou County Board of Supervisors

Debra Walsh, Siskiyou County
Deputy Director of Human Services

Judithe Washington
Retired Teacher/Vice Principal

Stephen Kolpacoff, MD
Siskiyou County Public Health Officer

Commission Meetings and Location

The First 5 Siskiyou Children and Families Commission typically meets on the fourth Wednesday of the month, beginning at 8:30 am.  Most meetings are held at the Siskiyou County Office of Education, 609 S. Gold Street in Yreka, or as posted. Commission meetings are open to the public; we invite and encourage participation of our community partners, local organizations, and individuals. Meeting agenda, date, and location can be viewed on the Monday preceding the meeting by clicking the link below.

Agenda for Meeting of

Past meeting information and documentation is available by meeting date at:

Archived Commission Meeting Documents